Radio Havana Cuba

A friendly voice around the world

  • Follow Us on

#NoMasBloqueo #SolidaridadVsBloqueo

Lázaro Saavedra: National Fine Arts Award Winner for 2014

The 2014 National Fine Arts Award was granted to Lázaro Saavedra in recognition of his creative artistic history and the values of his work characterized by conceptualism, humor and irony.

A member of PURE, one of the artistic groups of the 1980’s in Cuba, he has developed a versatile career making use of different means of expression. Saavedra has stood out for his works in Cuba and abroad and trajectory as a teacher in training different generations of Cuban students.

The jury was presided over by 2013 National Fine Arts Award Winner, Eduardo Pon­juán, and made up of other laureates, such as Osneldo García, Pedro Pablo Oliva, René de la Nuez, José Villa, Nelson Domínguez, Ernesto Fernández Nogueras and Ever Fonse­ca; artists Iván Capote, Abel Barreto and Abel Barroso; National Critics Award winner, Manuel López Oliva, and art critics,  María de los Ángeles Pereira, David Mateo  Axel Li.

Nominees for the 2014 award included José Antonio Choy, Lesbia Vent Dumois, Salvador Corratgé, Zaida del Río, Roberto Salas, Juan Moreira, Pedro de Oráa, José Manuel Fors, Alberto Lescay, Alexis Leyva Machado (Kcho), Eduardo Roca (Choco), Ma­nuel Hernández Valdés, Rafael Zarza and Rocío García.

Edited by Damian Donestevez
  • RHC's national and international news stories
  • Former Cuban ambassador to Namibia says US trying to repeat in other nations what it's been doing against Cuba for so long
  • RHC´s weekly sports show Corner Taken Quickly
  • RHC's national and international news stories
  • U.S. vice presidential hopeful visits Cuban book fair
  • Visit Cuba


  • Max: 19729
  • yesterday: 9255
  • today: 7558
  • online: 177
  • total: 7297404