Radio Havana Cuba

A friendly voice around the world

  • Follow Us on

#NoMasBloqueo #SolidaridadVsBloqueo

Cuba Returns to the Caribbean Baseball Series

Dec 4, -- Cuba has received the approval from the U.S. State Department to participate at the Caribbean Baseball Series to be held in February 2014 in Margarita Island, Venezuela.

US Major Leagues International Development Director, Dominican Joel Araujo, expressed his satisfaction for the return of Cuba to the traditional meet, according to the Prensa Latina news agency.

Along with the Villa Clara team, current champ of the Cuban Baseball Series, the teams of Mexico, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Venezuela will also participate at the Caribbean championship, although a 6th team from Colombia, Panama or Nicaragua could also join the list.

The approval puts down a 53-year wait since Cuba was absent from the Caribbean Series, which was founded in 1949 in Havana.

The Caribbean Baseball Confederation had announced the return to Cuba to the Series, but the United States vetoed the decision due to the US economic, commercial and financial blockade imposed on the island for over 50 years.

Edited by Juan Leandro
  • Cuban President winds up government visit to Santiago de Cuba
  • RHC's Caribbean Outlook Show
  • RHC's Arts Roundup
  • Cuba insists Washington is manipulating diplomat health incidents
  • President Miguel Díaz-Canel congratulates Cuban journalists on Cuban Press Day
  • Expert: Title III of Helms-Burton aims to limit Cuba’s access to foreign capital sources


  • Max: 19729
  • yesterday: 3540
  • today: 1763
  • online: 139
  • total: 5754137