## Pinar del Rio are the champions of Cuba



Havana (RHC) - The Pinar del Río team won the title of the Torneo Apertura of the Cuban National Football League, after defeating the favorites Ciego de Ávila.

Pinar de Rio won in a penalty shootout (4-3) after finishing 2-2 on regular time, at the Sergio Alonso Grandal Stadium in municipality of Morón, in Ciego de Avila.

The winners showed early their intentions to take first place, scoring goals from Yasmani Soriano and Jean Carlos Rodríguez in the 17th and 32nd minutes, respectively.

But with the crowd in their favor, the leaders of Pool B leveled the match with goals of Asmel Núñez in the 66th and Sander Fernández in the 78th with an excellent free kick.

In the penalties, Ernesto Duanes and Yosel Perdomo for the locals and Yampier Rodríguez and Jean Carlos for the visitors scored for another 2-2. However, in the next round Fernández and Rigoberto García missed.

Joan Carlos Casola for the home team

Last time Pinar won the National League was in the 2006-2007 season.

https://www.radiohc.cu/en/noticias/deportes/210414-pinar-del-rio-are-the-champions-of-cuba



## Radio Habana Cuba