Lula's government announces Brazil's return to Unasur



Havana, April 7 (RHC) - The federal government announced this Friday the return of Brazil to the Union of South American Nations (Unasur), in a decree signed by President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva.

Published in the Official Gazette of the Union, the provision becomes valid in 30 days, that is, from May 6.

In 2019, the defeated president Jair Bolsonaro communicated through social networks that Brazil would withdraw from the bloc, founded on the basis of a constitutive treaty signed in May 2008 by the governments of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The current administration now points out that «in 2010, the union was made up of the 12 States of South America and with a population of almost 400 million inhabitants. Since then, some countries withdrew from Unasur, mainly due to political disagreements. The departure from Brazil occurred in 2019 by decision of the previous government".

According to the official announcement, Argentina also announced it will return to the bloc, which currently has Bolivia, Guyana, Suriname and Venezuela as members, as well as Peru (suspended).

Lula defended on March 16 the strengthening of the Southern Common Market (Mercosur), the reorganization of Unasur and the improvement of foreign relations policy. (Source: PL)

https://www.radiohc.cu/en/noticias/internacionales/319042-lulas-government-announces-brazils-return-tounasur



Radio Habana Cuba