## Crocodiles to the sky in All-Star Series



By Orlando González Cruz.

Matanzas, February 2 (RHC) -- The Cocodrilos de Matanzas were crowned champions of the Cuban baseball All-Star Series on Thursday. After defeating the Elite League (12-2) by knockout.

Those attending the Victoria de Girón stadium in Yumurino witnessed how from very early on theirs were ahead on the scoreboard, and did not stop until the "out of combat" was decreed.

Starter Yadián Martínez got the smiles on his face after working five chapters, allowing two runs and striking out three opponents.

Yadir Drake and Yurisbel Gracial shined with a home run each.

The Venezuelan team won the bronze medal after defeating Mexico (8-6).

The victory was won by Henry Centeno, who was supported by homers from Gersel Pitre and Junior Herrera.

The day was also an opportunity to recognize the best exponents of the II Elite League of Cuban baseball.

The best players of this tournament received their awards minutes before the duel for the title of the All-Star Series.

Individual leaders in the II Elite League of Cuban baseball.

Offensive:

Average: Alexander Pozo (MTZ)

Runs scored: Juan Carlos Arencibia (SSP)

Hits: José Luis Gutiérrez (SCU)

Runs scored: Jorge Enrique Alomá (IND)

Triples: Andy Cosme (ART)

Home Runs: Yurisbel Gracial (MTZ)

Stolen Bases: Juan Carlos Arencibia (SSP)

Runs batted in: Rafael Viñales (LTU)

Bases on Balls: Frederich Cepeda (SSP)Pitching:Win/Loss Average: Geonel Gutiérrez (ART)

PCL: Yosiel Serrano (SCU)Games Pitched: Rodolfo Diaz (LTU)Complete Games: Erlys Casanova (ART)Games Won: Remberto Barreto (IND)

Runs Batted In: Erlys Casanova (ART)Games Saved: Yanielquis Duardo (SSP)

Inning: Remberto Barreto (IND)Punchouts: Yunieski García (ART)Fewest Bases on Balls: Dario Sarduy (ART).

Offensive All-StarsC: Andy Cosme1b: Rafael Viñales2b: Jorge Enrique Aloma3b: Yurisbel GracialSs: Luis Vicente Mateo
Outfielders:
Dennis Laza
Alexander Pozo
Dennis Peña
Utiliti: José Noroña
Designated: Frederich Cepeda

All-Star Defensive Player
C: Andy Cosme
1b: Yordanis Samón
2b: Jorge Enrique Alomá
3b: Yordanis Alarcón
Ss: Dainel López
Outfielders:

LF: Denis Laza

CF: Eduardo Blanco

RF: Carlos de la Tejera

L: Yadian Martínez

Right-handed pitcher: Remberto Barreto

Left-handed pitcher: Geonel Gutiérrez

Reliever: Yanielquis Duardo

Best Umpire: Yordanis Gómez

Regular season MVP: Yurisbel Gracial

Playoff MVP: Yoennis Yera.



## Radio Habana Cuba