Andean presidents meet in Peru for Community of Andean Nations anniversary



Lima, May 27 (RHC)-- The presidents of Ecuador, Bolivia, Colombia and Peru met Sunday in the Peruvian capital in order to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Andean Community of Nations, or CAN.

The CAN's ?political commitment? was established in 1969 in Cartagena de Indias by its founding members -- Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru -- in order to organize an equal a balanced development across the Andean region.

Over the last 50 years, the four neighboring nations were also able to unify its natural disaster response mechanisms, create the Andean Committee of Cultural Affairs, and realize a number of global agreements. Trade remains the main unity factor between the four founding members, and the respective Trade Ministers are accompanying the Presidents in this Summit, along with their Foreign Ministers.

Last May, the Andean Nations Community elected Peru to preside over its international meetings after a seven-year vacancy in the Andean Presidential Council.

Peru's leadership aims to improve the regional integration, including the Andean Migration Card, more affordable telephone roaming fees, sharing of information on disease and plant pests, as well as \$50 million to be used towards business innovations in Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru.

 $\frac{https://www.radiohc.cu/index.php/en/noticias/internacionales/191815-andean-presidents-meet-in-peru-for-community-of-andean-nations-anniversary$



Radio Habana Cuba