Radio Havana Cuba

A friendly voice around the world

  • Follow Us on

#NoMasBloqueo #SolidaridadVsBloqueo

Sports News Roundup Nov. 4

Cuban boxers Erislandy Savón and Javier Ibáñez, and coach Rolando Acelbal, took 3 of the annual awards of the International Boxing Association (AIBA) 2014 for outstanding performances during the year.

The AIBA "included in its list of laureates Savón as the best boxer of the 4th World Series (WSB), Ibáñez, as best young, and Acebal as the best technical coach," said Jit, the portal of the Institute of Sports of Cuba, INDER.

The awards will be delivered on November 24th in the South Korean city of Jeju, after the closure of universal classic of ladies, the AIBA 2014 Women's World Boxing Championships.

Previously, they had been awarded by the AIBA, Pedro Roque, now chief technical officer of the US team, as the Best Coach in 2008, and Bárbaro Gutiérrez, as Best Medical Jury in 2009.

After 5 years without being able to reign by countries at the highest level because of defections from its boxers, Cuban boxing had a luxury honor 2014 by winning the 4th AIBA WSB edition.

Prensa Latina Sports Poll 2014 Opens

The 51st sports carried out every year by Prensa Latina Cuban news agency, to select the best athletes of the year in Latin America and the Caribbean, has opened to press media and specialists this Monday, and now all press media and experts may send their votes to select the winners.

For the 3rd time, only five best athletes will be selected, besides the Best Female, Male Athlete of the Year and Best Team of the Year will be selected.
In the 2013 edition, female sprinter Shelly Ann Fraser got to win as Best Female Athlete, and Usain Bolt, both from Jamaica, was the Best Male Athlete. The baseball team of the Dominican Republic having taken part and winning the 2013 World Baseball Classic, was the winner of the award for the Best Team of the Year.

Votes coming from communication media, such as radio, television, websites and written press, may send their votes to: Prensa Latina left some proposals as winners, but any communications media may vote for any athlete who may not be on its list, if it thinks the athlete can opt for the award.

In the Prensa Latina list, there are stars such as Caterine Ibargüen (triple jump, Colombia), Fabiana Murer (jumping, Brazil), Marta Vieira da Silva (female soccer, Brazil), Mayra Aguiar (judo, Brazil), Idalys Ortiz (judo, Cuba), María del Rosario Espinoza (taekwondo, Mexico), Glennis Hernandez (taekwondo, Cuba) and others, for Best Female Athlete.

The names of Eugene Williams Mills (track and field, Jamaica), Alonso Edwards (track and field, Panama), Emanuel David "Manu" Ginóbili (basketball, Argentina), Leinier Domínguez (chess, Cuba), Yosbany Veitía (boxing, Cuba), Erislandy Savón (boxing, Cuba), Pablo Sandoval (Baseball, Venezuela), Angel di Maria, (soccer, Argentina), Lionel Messi (soccer, Argentina), James Rodriguez (soccer, Colombia) and others, are in the Prensa Latina list for Best Male Athlete.
For Best Male Team of the Year, there are the Argentinean and the Colombian soccer team, together with the Peruvian soccer national team and the Cuban male boxing team.

For Best Female Team, there are the national Brazilian and the Dominican national volleyball teams.



Edited by Ivan Martínez
  • RHC's Arts Roundup
  • Cuba ratifies its unwavering support for Nicaragua
  • Cuba renews its solidarity with Nicaragua
  • RHC's Caribbean Outlook Show
  • Cuban lawmakers studying draft of new Constitution
  • Machado Ventura: Unity among the left and progressive forces is urgently needed these days


  • Max: 19729
  • yesterday: 3268
  • today: 1428
  • online: 116
  • total: 4944272