Baseball champions in Cuba to be honored in Bayamo

Edited by Ed Newman
2022-01-21 06:47:08


Baseball champions in Cuba to be honored in Bayamo

Bayamo, January 21 (RHC/PL)-- Plagued by stories and feats of its men and women, the capital city of this eastern province, Bayamo, will host this Friday the Gala of Champions of the 60th National Series won precisely by the Alazanes de Granma.

The Alazanes will be officially congratulated as champions and together with the most outstanding baseball players of the past campaign will be honored by the organizers of the event and the sports authorities of the country and the territory.

Nine months ago, the José Antonio Huelga stadium in the province of Sancti Spíritus, a neutral bubble due to the resurgence of Covid-19 in the country, was the venue of the final game which was tied at five runs in the ninth chapter.

The decision came on a home run with the bases loaded by the talented hitter Guillermo García, who, on a two-ball, one-strike count, hooked a delivery to the experienced pitcher Jonder Martínez to define the game 6-5.

Thus, the championship was decided and the men of mentor Carlos Martí became the kings of Cuban baseball for the third time, after winning, in addition, the 56th and 57th editions of the competition.

For his performance in the final, García was elected the Most Valuable Player (MVP), while Lisbán Correa, from the capital, was the MVP of the championship after leading the home run charts with 28, driving in 82 runs and finishing with an offensive average of .320.

Likewise, Camagüey right-hander Frank Madan and left-hander Yudiel Rodríguez stood out as pitchers, while Santiago's Yunior Tur led the relievers.

Meanwhile, Mayabeque team pitcher Marlon Vega won the award for best rookie of the season.

All of them, plus the members of the offensive and defensive All-Star teams, will be congratulated during the evening.



-Receiver: Yosvani Alarcon (LTU), Lisban Correa (1B/IND), Cesar Prieto (2B/CFG), Luis Vicente Mateo (SS/CFG), Pavel Quesada (3B/CFG), Yasniel Gonzalez (JAR/MAY), Geisel Cepeda (JAR/SSP), Dennis Laza (JAR/MAY) and Frederich Cepeda (BD/SSP).


-Receiver: Andrys Perez (MTZ), Daniel Perez (1B/CFG), Cesar Prieto (2B/CFG), Yordan Manduley (SS/HOL), Luis Angel Sanchez (3B/GTM), Dailer Pena (LF/LTU), Yoasan Guillen (CF/IND), Andres Quiala (RF/LTU), Magdiel Alfredo Gomez (UTI/VCL) and Jose Pablo Cuesta Linzay (LAN/IND).


All fields required
captcha challenge