Victory at Victoria: Matanzas champion

Edited by Ed Newman
2024-01-24 08:35:10


By Orlando González Cruz

Matanzas, January 24 (RHC) --The Cocodrilos de Matanzas defeated the Cazadores de Artemisa this Tuesday at the Victoria de Girón (12-5) and became the champions of the II Elite League of Cuban baseball.

Those from the so-called Atenas de Cuba were crowned for the first time in their own land, since all the previous successes of the province had to be celebrated away from home.

The Crocodiles had to come from behind, as the Artemideños scored three runs in the very first inning, including a home run by the left-handed Dennis Laza, against starter Renner Rivero.

In that same inning, the Yumurinos were able to equalize in front of Raymond Figueredo, largely due to the very bad defense of the Cazadores, who committed an incredible seven errors throughout the game.

In the third act the Artemiseños made two and a chapter later the Crocodiles negotiated the tie again, to take a two run lead at the end of the fifth inning.

In the opening of the sixth, a very controversial play occurred around the second pillow. Artemisa had the bases loaded and was batting their leadoff man, Yoan Moreno, who hit a ground ball to second. When the connection was made, the bartender Yordan Manduley took the ball and passed it to the torpedo Barbaro Arruebarrena, who had to jump to secure the ball. Right at that moment, the controversy was unleashed, which was settled by the video claim, with the reaffirmation of the out.From that moment on, the game was different, because in that very inning Matanzas scored five runs and opened the scoreboard.

The game was won by reliever Noelvis Enteza, who worked three and a third innings without allowing any runs. Frank Luis Medina was in charge of closing the game.Eduardo Blanco, Ariel Sánchez and Yordanis Samón were outstanding for the winners. The last two with home runs included.

With the title of the Crocodiles, their manager Armando Ferrer joined Carlos Martí, from Granma, as the only champions of the National Series and the Elite League. In the case of the matancero with the particularity of doing it with the same team.


All fields required
captcha challenge