IX Meeting of the Puebla Group to begin Friday in Mexico

Edited by Ed Newman
2023-09-28 16:43:28


Mexico City, September 28 (RHC)-- The IX meeting of the Puebla Group will begin Friday until Sunday, October 1, in the Mexican city that bears its name, where it was born on July 14, 2019.

Under the slogan "In unity we advance", the nearly 200 members of the group will meet at the International Baroque Museum of Puebla, with the attendance already confirmed of six former presidents of Ibero-America: from Colombia Ernesto Samper, Bolivia Evo Morales; Honduras Manuel Zelaya, Spain José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero, Dominican Republic Leonel Fernández, and Ecuador Rafael Correa.

The progressive international policy agenda includes the proposals for which they will work to consolidate the region's unity.

These include the creation of a common currency, a new multilateralism, the convergence of their sub-regional integration organizations, the new solidarity model of development, the energy transition and the insertion of the continent in the Global South through spaces such as the Brics.

They will also make a proposal in favor of achieving an end to the conflict in Ukraine within the debates on the paths to peace.

The coordinator of the Puebla Group, Marco Enríquez-Ominami, announced that among those confirmed are, of course, the hosts of the event: the Mexican Foreign Minister, Alicia Bárcena, the presidential candidate Claudia Sheinbaum and the governor of Puebla, Sergio Salomón Céspedes.

The Minister of Defense of Argentina, Jorge Enrique Taiana; the Secretary of Climate Change of Argentina, Cecilia Nicolini; the peace negotiators with the ELN and senators of Colombia Iván Cepeda and María José Pizarro, the deputy of Chile Karol Cariola and the deputy of Argentina Eduardo Valdés, as well as the Spanish jurist Baltasar Garzón, among others.

The Puebla Group is four years old and since its foundation, it has been a space for action, reflection and influence of progressive leaders of Ibero-America, which has worked for integration in the debate with Unasur and Celac, and has promoted collaboration with Europe and China.

It is made up of the presidents of Argentina, Alberto Fernández, his vice Cristina Fernández; of Bolivia, Luis Arce; of Brazil, Lula da Silva; of Chile, Gabriel Boric; of Colombia, Gustavo Petro and his vice Francia Márquez; the vice president of the Spanish government, Yolanda Díaz; the Mexican foreign minister, Alicia Barcena; and the minister of equality of Spain, Irene Montero.

Also 13 former presidents: Cristina Fernández, Argentina; Evo Morales, Bolivia; Dilma Rousseff, Brazil; Michelle Bachelet, Chile; Ernesto Samper, Colombia; Luis Guillermo Solís, Costa Rica. Leonel Fernández, Dominican Republic, Rafael Correa, Ecuador, José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero, Spain, Manuel Zelaya, Honduras, Martín Torrijos, Panama; Fernando Lugo, Paraguay, and José Mujica, Uruguay. (Source:PL)


All fields required
captcha challenge