Partial Trump Travel Ban Takes Effect, Barring Travelers from Six Countries

Edited by Pavel Jacomino
2017-06-29 16:32:31


Washington, June 29 (RHC)-- U.S. President Trump’s ban on refugees and travelers from six Muslim-majority countries partially takes effect this evening, after the Supreme Court said it will examine the constitutionality of the order. 

The ruling will affect some travelers from Libya, Iran, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.  Beginning Thursday evening, foreign nationals from those countries who can’t show a "credible claim of a bona fide relationship" with a person or entity in the United States will be barred from entering the country. 

The ban is set to last for 90 days, meaning it will expire ahead of an expected ruling from the Supreme Court in October. 

A cable sent to consular officials worldwide Wednesday provided a narrow definition of close family: a parent, spouse, child, an adult son or daughter, son-in-law, daughter-in-law or sibling, as well as stepfamily relationships. 

However, it explicitly excluded other family relationships: grandparents, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, cousins, brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law, fiancées and other “extended” family relations. 

According to the cable, which was first reported by the Associated Press and posted by Reuters, the rules do not take effect until 8 p.m. Thursday, a deadline imposed to prevent people from being turned away upon arrival in the United States as happened earlier in the year when a ban was imposed affecting people already en route.  The decision also affects refugees, though the cap of 50,000 refugees this fiscal year has nearly been reached, with 49,008 refugees admitted as of Wednesday. 


All fields required
captcha challenge